101 Labs – CompTIA A+ Certification Training

CompTIA A+ Certification

The CompTIA A+ exam is your gateway to a career in IT support, including helpdesk, PC support, and basic network support.

The CompTIA A+ certification is ideal for beginners who want to pass a vendor-neutral exam. They are required if you want to work in any government role, including for companies that subcontract on government work.

Updated for the latest exam syllabus:

  • 220-1101 (Core 1)
  • 220-1102 (Core 2)

CompTIA A+ Certification Training

The A+ exam is very practical so getting hands-on experience configuring the services, devices and protocols is essential. These hands-on labs guide you through configuring DNS, DHCP, routers, firewalls, network switches, wireless and much more.

We take you by the hand and guide you through the A+ exam syllabus topics. There are more than $400 worth of CompTIA A+ practice tests included to guarantee your success come exam day.

CompTIA A+ certification is an ideal stepping stone for a range of careers including helpdesk, network support, PC engineer, security, wireless, system administration, network design and many others.

This A+ certification course shows you how to configure multiple protocols and technologies. You use free-trial software, virtual machines and free-to-download software (such as Cisco Packet Tracer) to configure all the labs.

Follow along every step of the way as our expert instructor shares tips and secrets you can use not only to pass the exam but to succeed in the real world of internetworking. You use free trials of software and free network emulators such as Cisco Packet Tracer so you don’t need to buy any expensive equipment.

All software can run on a Virtual Machine on your home PC. Download free trials and evaluation versions of Windows 10 and Windows Server so you can configure Windows security and Active Directory. Ubuntu is a free Linux distro you can download to try out your Linux configurations and commands.

CompTIA A+ jobs require you to support a broad range of hardware and software from multiple vendors which is typical in many small-to-medium sized companies. Although the exam is vendor neutral you will need to spend time using Microsoft and Linux software as well as a range of other vendors for firewall and wireless.

By the end of the course you will have configured IP subnetting, Windows, Linux, Apple, device security, bitlocker, wireless security, Active Directory, Windows Server, printer networking, RAID and much more.

You will have configured more devices and services than most support engineers do in five years, all with the guidance of our networking expert who has over 20 years working with large corporations installing and supporting their network equipment.

This course is 100% hands-on training. If you want to study the theory for your CompTIA A+ certification then please visit our sister website howtonetwork.com.

Take this course if you:

  • Want to lay a foundation for a career in IT
  • Want to pass the CompTIA A+ exam
  • Are new to the world of IT and want to learn all the basics
  • Don’t feel ready for advanced exams such as Cisco CCNA
  • Want an understanding of networking concepts, protocols and technology
  • Want to gain confidence in your hands-on IT skills
  • Want access to 400 A+ practice test questions
  • Want to gain an edge in your A+ exam
Module 1Networking Concepts
Unit 1File Transfer Protocol 
Unit 2Secure Shell 
Unit 3Telnet 
Unit 4SMTP 
Unit 5DNS 
Unit 6HTTP 
Unit 7POP3 
Unit 8HTTPS 
Unit 9Remote Desktop Connection 
Unit 10NetBIOS 
Unit 11DHCP 
Unit 12LDAP 
Unit 13SNMP 
Unit 14UDP 
Unit 15TCP 
Unit 16Router 
Unit 17Switch 
Unit 18Hub 
Unit 19Firewall 
Unit 20NIC 
Unit 21Power over Ethernet 
Unit 22Internet of Things 
Unit 23IPv6 Addressing 
Unit 24RAID 
Unit 25Hot Swap 
Unit 26Subnetting 1 
Unit 27Subnetting 2 
Unit 28VLSM 
Unit 29Running Backups 
Unit 30TFTP Server 
Unit 31VLAN 
Unit 32Manage a Linux Printer 
Module 2Wireless Networking
Unit 1Wireless NIC 
Unit 2Encryption 
Unit 3Install WLC 
Unit 4VoIP Endpoint 
Unit 5DSL Modem 
Unit 6Wifi Analyser 
Unit 7Bluetooth 
Unit 8IoT Thermostat 
Module 3Operating Systems
Unit 1Boot Methods - Windows 
Unit 2Boot Methods - Linux 
Unit 3Partitioning - Windows 
Unit 4Hard Disk Layout - Linux 
Unit 5Create Partitions and Filesystems - Linux 
Unit 6Maintain the Integrity of Filesystems - Linux 
Unit 7Microsoft Command Line Tools 1 
Unit 8Microsoft Command Line Tools 2 
Unit 9MS CLI 3 
Unit 10MS OS Tools 1 
Unit 11MS OS Tools 2 
Unit 12MS OS Tools 3 
Unit 13MS Control Panel 
Unit 14MS Display Settings 
Unit 15MS Printer Sharing 
Unit 16MS Workgroups 
Unit 17MS Map Network Drive 
Unit 18Basic Linux Commands 1 
Unit 19Basic Linux Commands 2 
Unit 20Basic Linux Commands 3 
Unit 21Basic Paramaters MacOS 
Unit 22Basic Linux Scripting 
Module 4Security
Unit 1Smart Card Reader 
Unit 2Port Security 
Unit 3MAC Filtering 
Unit 4Firewalls HW/SW 
Unit 5Access Control Lists 
Unit 6WPA2-TKIP 
Unit 9Bitlocker 
Unit 10Limited User Account 
Unit 11Layer 7 Firewall 
Unit 12Enforce Strong Passwords 
Unit 13Failed Attempts Lockout 
Unit 14Disable Autorun 
Unit 15Disable SSID 
Unit 16WPA2 TKIP 2 
Unit 17Wireless ACL 
Unit 18Wireless - Remote Access 
Unit 19Unified Threat Management 
Unit 20Windows Firewall 
Unit 21Disable Ports 
Unit 22Port Forwarding 
Unit 23Securing Data with Encryption: SSH 
Unit 24Linux Firewall - IP Tables 
Unit 25Linux Uncomplicated Firewall 
Unit 26Install Microsoft Active Directory 
Unit 27Organizational Units 
Unit 28Active Directory Domains 
Unit 29Active Directory Home Folder 
Unit 30Active Directory - Login Script 
Module 5Troubleshooting
Unit 1Troubleshoot Performance Problems 
Unit 2Troubleshoot Slow Processing Time 
Unit 3Defragment Hard Drive 
Unit 4Windows 10 God Mode 
Unit 5Track Program Load Times 
Unit 6Rollback Driver 
Unit 7Safe Mode 
Unit 8Incorrect Network Mask 
Unit 9Restart Services 
Module 6Exams
Unit 1Exam 1 
Unit 2Exam 2 
Unit 3Exam 3 
Unit 4Exam 4 
Module 7Bonus Labs
Unit 1Network Address Translation 
Unit 2Quality of Service 
Unit 3Evil Twin Attack 
Unit 4SQL Injection 
Unit 5Python Scripting 
Unit 6PowerShell Scripting